Ethereal

I managed to get up to Nambung National Park a couple of weeks ago to shoot the Pinnacles. I arrived mid afternoon and spent a considerable amount of time wondering around waiting for the sun to get a little closer to the horizon. The few scattered clouds that were around managed to clear by the time the sun went down so i decided to make the most of a clear sky and shoot this other-worldly landscape under the stars.

The Pinnacles is a great place to star gaze when the conditions are right.

The is a blend of two exposures, two hours apart. One for the land while there was still a hint of light in the sky to the west and the second when the milky way became clearly visible in the night sky and positioned within frame.

…..Wordpress has made the image appear a little funky but I will leave it for time being

27 responses

  1. Beautiful, Luke, just stunningly beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    Cindy

    http://www.cindydyer.wordpress.com

    January 23, 2011 at 7:44 am

  2. Luke Austin

    Thanks Cindy, that was quick!

    January 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

  3. Stunning Luke … just stunning …

    January 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Neal

      January 23, 2011 at 7:58 am

  4. I just finished visiting this place this past September (I am from Maryland, USA).
    I loved this area. It was very exciting.

    Was the park open past dark or did they give you special permission?

    Wonderful image. Did you get any good ones during the daytime?

    Barb

    January 23, 2011 at 8:10 am

    • Luke Austin

      Hey Barb,
      The park doesn’t really close, at least I don’t think. If it did I was locked in there without knowing.

      Yeah I got some nice images in the afternoon and following morning which I will go through shortly.

      Good to hear you enjoyed your time there.

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      January 23, 2011 at 8:18 am

  5. Hi Luke,
    That is an amazing image indeed what ISO did you use and shutter speed I love the detail in the image to great shot :).
    Brett

    January 23, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    • Thanks Brett
      30sec @ iso 3200 for the stars

      January 23, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  6. True North Mark

    Serially well done Luke.

    That gives me something to aspire to when we go back!

    January 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  7. True North Mark

    Seriously that is!

    January 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    • Thanks Mark, let me know when you head up next time

      January 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  8. True North Mark

    Will do…we will make a date with Neal as well for the over night camping gig..stay tuned!

    January 23, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  9. Tony Middleton

    Top result Luke – powerful image mate 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 4:39 am

  10. Chloe

    gorgeous, i love gazing at stars

    January 24, 2011 at 2:32 pm

  11. Great stuff Luke, always good to see a totally different take on a commonly photographed area. Looks a bit like the cover of a 70’s alternative rock bands record.

    January 24, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    • Thanks Pete, i still came away with a few of the typical shots

      January 26, 2011 at 6:14 pm

  12. Ahh great title! And a wonderful image!

    January 25, 2011 at 3:21 am

  13. Great image Luke!

    January 25, 2011 at 4:47 pm

  14. Cam Sharpe

    Awesome shot, stars and milky way are amazing!

    January 29, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  15. AWESOME shot Luk!!!

    February 1, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    • I meant Luke… sorry :s

      February 1, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  16. Found this while looking for astronomy pics. Cool location! I tried a similar blend (“godsent” on my website) with the aurora but not a wide field yet. Given me inspiration.

    March 28, 2011 at 5:00 am

  17. Hi Luke,

    Damn boy! You nailed this! It looked like one exposure to me until I read different. Nice work.
    Just wondering this goes being printed with the ISO @ 3200?
    I’m sure it’s a cracker! That would be hanging in my place for sure if I had taken it 😉
    Cheers,

    Bryce

    April 20, 2011 at 1:16 am

  18. Awesome shot mate!

    May 22, 2011 at 8:27 pm

  19. Beautiful image dude, one of my all time fav’s by you hey!
    Would be interested in some meta data if you wouldn’t mind?
    I’m planning a trip inland to do some night stuff myself and would love to get some tips from the master 😛

    June 16, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    • Hey Drew, cheers for the comment.
      I’ve sent you a note on DA for the settings for this shot. I’ll be looking forward to the results mate

      June 19, 2011 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

