Windswept – Lancelin Dunes -Western Australia

Hey everyone, I hope all is well.

Well a few weeks ago I headed up to Lancelin for the evening as conditions were looking promising. This was the first time I had shot an Australian Landscape for quite some time and it felt good to get out there. I scouted the dunes looking for decent lines and compositions, but with the light fading I had to work quickly. I did come away with a few different images but this particular one I thought would suit black and white.

A location such as this is forever changing so you don’t know exactly what you will come away with. I have been back there since and the lines and curves of the dunes were completely different to the previous visit.

Also I have finally got around to creating a Facebook Page so please “follow me on facebook”. The page will be regularly updated with discussion, competitions, new images, new blog posts, my whereabouts and other events. Also if any of you have your own page I will be sure to join. Thanks
Follow Me on Facebook by clicking the “Like” tab

Double row 6 image stitch

13 responses

  1. Beautiful image Luke, love the detail in the dunes.

    January 6, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Peta

      January 6, 2011 at 11:23 am

  2. True North Mark

    Nicely done Luke!

    Last time I went to Lancelin I thought I was in a Mad Max movie with all the 4wd’s and dune buggies belting around me!

    Hopefully your experience was a little more peaceful!

    January 6, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Mark.

      yeah it was actually really peaceful when I was up there. No one around whatsoever. Maybe because it was a howling SW wind.

      January 6, 2011 at 11:24 am

  3. stevensaul

    Awesome shot! As well as no people in the strong SW – you get the nice detail/ripples in the dune! love the sky too!

    January 6, 2011 at 11:50 am

  4. Hey Luke, love it. I’m a massive fan of sand dune shots! Awesome detail in the image.

    January 6, 2011 at 6:27 pm

  5. WOW

    January 6, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  6. Nice detail Luke, has a 3D quality to it as well.

    January 9, 2011 at 6:41 am

  7. wow that’s awesome, such incredible detail in the sand. Looks great in B&W.

    Cheers,
    Lloyd

    January 10, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Lloyd. yeah there were some nice lines about

      January 11, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  8. Tony Middleton

    Cool image Luke – lots of ‘drama’ in this one 🙂

    January 13, 2011 at 11:14 am

  9. Wow! This has to be the best shot I’ve seen in 2011 so far mate.

    Jamie

    January 18, 2011 at 10:21 am

  10. brilliant Luke, reminds me of the snow shot Adamus has on his site.

    January 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Leave a Reply

