Opal Range – Kananaskis Country – Canada

PLAN B

Late September I met up with Canadian Landscape Photographer Mike Isaak to shoot some of the fall colours around the banff/kananaskis area. We met up in the evening and decided to base ourselves at the Aspen lined Wedge Pond as the colour was at its peak and we thought it would be a good spot to start the morning shoot. Although the wind was howling down the valley we thought we would stick with this location and see how conditions were in the morning.

After a great nights sleep in the back of my rental van (my van was written off. Story to come) I awoke Mike from his slumber in the boot of his car. It was about 40 minutes before sunrise and the wind was still blowing a gail. The windy conditions were not desirable for this particular location so with decided to come up with a plan b. We could see that the clouds in the east were starting to become under lit  with pink hues so we quickly headed for another location I had in mind.  After a 20min drive down the valley we came to Spillway Lake. The Lake was protected from the wind and the sky was continuing to light up behind the Opal Range. With everything coming together we decided to set up and watch things unfold.

Also I have finally got around to creating a Facebook Page so please “follow me on facebook”.  The page will be regularly updated with discussion, competitions, new images, new blog posts, my whereabouts and other events. Also if any of you have your own page I will be sure to join. Thanks

Follow Me on Facebook by clicking on the “Like” tab

 

14 responses

  1. True North Mark

    2 posts in one day mate…you’re on fire!

    Nice capture as well!

    January 6, 2011 at 11:23 am

    • Luke Austin

      I know, I don’t know what’s got into me!

      January 6, 2011 at 6:57 pm

  2. Spectacular photo, Luke! Thanks for sharing.

    January 6, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Cindy

      January 11, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  3. Great image Luke.

    January 8, 2011 at 4:02 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Ben

      January 11, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  4. Super shot Luke, has a bit of Marc Adamus style in it.

    January 9, 2011 at 6:40 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Thomas, I hope all is well

      January 11, 2011 at 7:23 pm

  5. perfectly composed! are these places amongst civilisation or do you have to do it ‘bear grylls’ style out there? hah

    January 10, 2011 at 11:09 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Katie. This particular location is easy to get to, no problems there. Canada has plenty of amazing locations that are right beside the road, and then there are the endless locations that require a little more effort. You could spend a lifetime discovering the place

      January 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  6. Classic shot! O and I think I remember that September morning. I even remember a camper on the parking lot of Wedge Pond… Was it around Sept 22 by any chance? I remember a HUGE Chinook blowing in. I decided to go back home (gravel was flying horizontally). I think I prayed the following week for the winds to lay down too. 😉

    January 18, 2011 at 4:30 am

    • Luke Austin

      Hey Olivier,
      I think this was taken around the 26th of September. I was still in Washington on the 22nd so missed out on the Chinook blowing through 😦

      The sunrises around this time were incredible.

      Thanks for stopping by

      January 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  7. stunning photograph, it’s almost hard to comprehend that something so beautiful isn’t in a movie 🙂

    February 10, 2011 at 6:36 am

  8. Simply stunning mate!

    May 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Leave a Reply

