Alaskan Adventures

Well I am now back from Alaska. I had an unbelievable time and came away with plenty of new images. I will most likely elaborate on the trip and certain locations when I get around to posting some of the images. I will not process any of the new images until I am behind a decent monitor as I am working off my laptop at the moment.

I hope everyone is well and I apologize that I have not been visiting/commenting on everyones blogs lately. I have spent as much time shooting as possible.

Here is a quick 3 image stitch I threw together from a day spent out in Katmai National Park, Alaska. We were flown in by light aircraft and dropped off on the tidal flats of the Coast. After seeing the pilot off we began hiking up the beach until we reached this inlet.  We just sat and watched as various Coastal Brown Bears made their way along the shoreline in search for salmon. This time of the year the salmon are “on the run” and the bears are doing their best to feed on the salmon as much as possible before winter sets in. It was an incredible site to see and to be out there amongst them a long way from anywhere was very surreal.

It is something I will remember for the rest of my life.

Click image for full view

17 responses

  1. must have been awesome to be there! nice capture aswell Luke with the bear standing in the middle like that.

    October 1, 2010 at 4:09 am

  2. True North Mark

    Cool image there Luke!

    Looks like the big guy standing up is eyeing you off for breakfast! 🙂

    October 1, 2010 at 8:28 am

  3. Awesome Luke ….

    October 2, 2010 at 6:17 am

  4. That is one BIG teddy bear! Great shot!

    October 2, 2010 at 9:10 pm

  5. matt saul

    awesome stuff Luke, looks like that bear has its eye on you ahah. any scary moments?

    October 3, 2010 at 9:00 am

  6. Awesome mate, very powerful shot.

    October 3, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  7. Tony Middleton

    Very cool image Luke – on what must have been a trip/experience forever – I’d be pinching myself as well !

    October 3, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  8. kirkhille

    Sweet shot mate love it

    October 7, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  9. Thanks for the feedback/comments. It was a great trip and very surreal at times.

    October 8, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  10. Theres a bear in there!
    Mate hope you had your bear spray. I had some in Canada. Used it once to see what it looked like and ended up getting some overspray on us that made us cough our guts up! funny, I have a photo of me setting it off. Yellow looking, not really nice but better than getting eaten by a bear!

    October 13, 2010 at 6:46 am

    • Haha, yeah I know what it looks like. Unfortunately.
      We were not aloud to take any bear spray into Katmai National Park. I would have felt far better with it, although I doubt it would help that much.

      October 13, 2010 at 11:48 am

  11. Craig Chiswell

    Awesome shot luke. Love that big guy.

    October 14, 2010 at 5:47 am

  12. well come back, glad you had a blast.. definitely looking forward to seeing some photos
    this ones a treat, those bears look cuddley but are intimidating i bet

    November 2, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  13. Wow this is great!

    November 13, 2010 at 2:09 pm

  14. I think its about time we saw a new image from Luke … c’mon luke I know you have some dynamite images … share buddy 😉

    November 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Patience my friend. There will be some shortly.
      Enjoy Hawaii!

      November 17, 2010 at 5:09 pm

  15. hope that was taken with a zoom, they look awfully close and interested in you!

    December 5, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

