Trees Like To Party

Well Spring is finally here in the Canadian Rockies. The snow has finally melted and the mountain sides are now speckled with lime green patches where the aspens are beginning to recover after a long winter. I found myself in a little aspen grove yesterday doing a little light painting. I noticed this patch was nicely side lit  and the white trunks of the aspens would contrast well with their vibrant new foliage. I blazed away until I was happy with the effect. I have a fair few variations in different formats that I will post over the next few weeks.

1/10sec, f14, ISO 100

14 responses

  1. This is a great shot and effect Luke. From what I have read quite hit and miss to get the right result but when you do it is awesome like this.

    May 28, 2010 at 1:02 am

  2. Sweet image Luke … I really like the colors of this image … Most times these types of images are too dark and heavy looking, I like how you have gone this path and kept it light, those lime greens are really nice …

    May 28, 2010 at 6:59 am

    • Thanks Neal, I agree with what you’ve said about the dark and heavy looking images. I made sure I exposed to the right as much as I could without clipping the highlights and then softened the shadows a little further when processing.

      May 28, 2010 at 7:50 am

  3. Stunning shot mate love the colors .

    May 28, 2010 at 10:41 am

  4. matt saul

    Aweome shot look..not really sure how you got the effect? but i like it!

    May 28, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Matt. I achieved the shot by setting an exposure of 1/10sec, composing what I felt would work and then as soon as i hit the shutter moved the camera upwards quickly to get the blur effect.

      May 28, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  5. matt saul

    that should be Luke! not Look aha

    May 28, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  6. Clint Baker

    Top stuff mate!!!!…..

    May 28, 2010 at 4:43 pm

  7. yeah well done man, Its softer then others I have seen too where you can tell what they have done, this is a nice abstract kind of shot.

    May 28, 2010 at 4:46 pm

  8. Nice, bright and vibrant Luke.
    Very cool capture.

    May 30, 2010 at 3:43 pm

  9. very nice mate i havent done one of these in a while! i agree with neal too
    have a gander at me blog too for some new pics 😛

    May 31, 2010 at 10:03 am

  10. wayte27

    Hey Luke very nice indeed, those colours are attractive. Also love the header to your w/press, hilarious cheers Adrian

    June 1, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  11. man you are getting some amazing images over there… i love this shot it would look so good printed on fujiflex nice and big

    June 15, 2010 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

