November 28

I was eager to take my new 70-200mm f2.8 VRII lens out for a test drive this morning so I headed to an area where I regularly see Moose, however on my way there I noticed the sky slowly starting to turn pink on the horizon. I knew that where I was heading was not really ideal for capturing a sunrise shot so I made a quick decision to head to Vermillion Lakes, where I knew I could get something. Unfortunately I arrived just as the initial light show had died down, but I was fairly confident that it would have a second wind, so I decided to set-up anyway. By the time I had hunted down the shot I was after the sky began to light up again. I didn’t get to take the 70-200mm for a spin but came away with a half decent shot of Mt Rundle from Vermillion Lakes.

32 responses

  1. Freakin love it … Awesome sceen, great capture, gotta love the tones in the sky and reflection in the water … YOU LUCKY F*@&#%

    November 30, 2009 at 8:52 am

  2. Brilliant image, such an array of fantastic contrasty colours. Looks awesome.

    November 30, 2009 at 10:35 am

  3. Holy crap. It just doesn’t get any better than this!!! Neal’s foggy Golden Gate Bridge was my favourite for the the year but this is now my favourite.

    November 30, 2009 at 1:21 pm

  4. wonderful palette Luke – do the lakes freeze over here?

    November 30, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Cain. Yes they do, they are on there way there, and with the temp dropping to minus 21C by tomorrow morning they will be well on there way.

      December 1, 2009 at 7:37 am

  5. *gasp*, what a shot man.
    the lead in, the reflection, colours are just magic.

    think Neal might be a lil jealous?? haha

    November 30, 2009 at 3:59 pm

  6. Tony Middleton

    Another fantastic crisp image Luke – You are achieving your best images to date over there and I’m enjoying them immensely ! top stuff mate !

    November 30, 2009 at 5:15 pm

  7. truenorthmark

    Better than half decent Luke for sure…fully decent in my humble opinion!!

    Cheers,

    True North mark!

    November 30, 2009 at 6:10 pm

  8. brilliant stuff, the contrast in this image is fantastic with detail still retained in the shadows, you need to run a workshop so I can attend. Your a player mate!

    November 30, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  9. Wow, awesome photo, mate! I bet you’re glad you changed your mind and headed here instead! Definitely a fav.

    December 1, 2009 at 5:45 am

  10. Luke Austin

    Thanks for all the great comments guys. πŸ™‚

    December 1, 2009 at 7:38 am

  11. RIPPER!

    December 1, 2009 at 2:56 pm

  12. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate love the light

    December 1, 2009 at 5:04 pm

  13. Great stuff mate. I just want to be there myself.

    December 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

  14. Clint Baker

    wow!! bloody great shot!!!…..wat lens did u use on this one???

    December 1, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    • Cheers Clint. This was shot with the Nikon 24-70mm 2.8.

      December 2, 2009 at 5:04 am

      • Clint Baker

        very very nice lens…. one that will be in my camera bag very soon!!!

        December 3, 2009 at 9:32 pm

  15. Very nice Luke! loving your latest work!

    December 2, 2009 at 4:15 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Will

      December 4, 2009 at 8:35 am

  16. amazing, yet again! where ever you are – it looks like heaven to me

    December 2, 2009 at 7:22 am

  17. Sweet as Luke, love it, great composition and the scene is stunning.

    December 2, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  18. Andrew Fuller

    Luke…this is very impressive! I love it…I must say your Canada shots have me very inspired. This is probably my favorite of yours so far! : ) Love your moose shot further down too…that looks like another world!, just amazing!

    December 3, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Andrew. I am always on a look out for your images.

      December 4, 2009 at 8:36 am

  19. Luke, that image is as good as I have seen anywhere…. superb mate … simply superb.

    Congratulations.

    December 3, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thank you Merv. Appreciate your kind words

      December 4, 2009 at 8:37 am

  20. Luke

    Like everyone else has said fanatic shot… Would love to know what settings you used for this shot and if you used any filters (I’m guess maybe a 2 or 3 stop hard GND filter)? Also did you have to do much post processing…
    Love you work…

    December 4, 2009 at 5:35 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Luke ( feels weird thanking another Luke),
      The images base exposure was 15secs @ f16. I did not use any filters for this image. I instead blended exposures.

      December 4, 2009 at 8:40 am

      • Luke

        Thanks for the reply… Did you have to take many exposures to get this out, I’m guessing you went a stop or 2 either side… Also where abouts is this, it really is very beautiful.

        December 4, 2009 at 9:35 am

  21. Luke

    On the location from, I just realized you said it Mt Rundle from Vermillion Lakes… I forgot to add, what sort of zoom you at I know you said 70-200mm but do you happen to remember the focal length… I promise no more questions after this… πŸ™‚

    December 4, 2009 at 9:46 am

  22. I love the reflection of the sky on the ice.

    December 9, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  23. HoLY CrAp that is an awesome shot. Im going to canada.

    December 25, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  24. fantastic capture, you’ve got to be happy with that one! Great portfolio, keep them coming.

    May 29, 2010 at 3:59 am

Leave a Reply

