Bulls N Boarding

I decided to head out for a morning shoot last weekend before going snowboarding. It turned out to be a ripper morning. I spend about half an hour following these Bull Elk along a frozen inlet within the Vermillion Lakes area of Banff National Park. I actually felt fairly comfortable being so close to the Elk. That was until one of them decided to bloody ice skate straight toward me. It was entertaining to see, but once he made it over the other side I had a feeling I had overstayed my welcome. So off to the ski hill I went where I was blessed with waist deep powder. A perfect morning πŸ™‚

24 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    Amazing shot mate…… like i said to u i think the sky is a bit dark but still…. holy crap!! haha keep them coming!!!

    November 23, 2009 at 10:17 am

  2. Luke Austin

    Cheers Clintorus. I did have the sky a lil darker, but dropped it back a little. Still not up to your bloody standards! I could have darkened the foreground slightly.

    November 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

  3. OH YEAH, now where cooking with gas!

    Just darken the snow and your GOLD!

    November 23, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  4. Tony Middleton

    Surreal scene Luke – awesome shot again mate – crop or stitch ? I like the crispness of the elk and the foreground, perhaps the sky is a touch dark…. either way it still sounds like an excellent day to me !

    cheers,

    November 23, 2009 at 6:47 pm

  5. Excellent shot. Does look surreal. Very sharp looking shot.

    November 23, 2009 at 8:27 pm

  6. My favorite of your travel shots so far Luke, This ones got a bit of everything.
    You must be getting a bit sick of the cold by now though?

    November 24, 2009 at 4:21 am

  7. Luke Austin

    Thanks a lot for the comments and feedback guys. I have made a couple of subtle changes.

    Cheers Neal.

    Thanks Tony, this is a crop. Felt the 3:1 ratio suited the scene.

    Thanks Graham.

    Good to hear you like it Peter. I’m actually not bothered by the cold at the moment. It hasn’t been to bad. Not yet anyway. The worst is still to come.

    November 24, 2009 at 9:33 am

    • Those bulls freakin awesome, the more I look at this image the more I wish I was there with you shooting it … Classic about the bull ice skating towards you LOL …

      Post up the moose one half covered in snow with the snow capped mountain and tree line in the background … Loved that shot … The wilderness shots with actual wildlife are so cool I wish I had more chance to get those type images … So shot more and start posting as they will all be very unique …

      November 24, 2009 at 10:08 am

      • I am not exactly sure which moose shot you are talking about. I will have a look over my moose shots again an see if I can figure out which one you are referring to. I think I know.

        November 25, 2009 at 9:22 am

  8. good to see you’re out there living it up Luke.
    you’re getting some awesome shots.
    definitely making the most of your time over there by the looks of things πŸ™‚

    November 24, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    • Thanks Stephen. I am loving it over here πŸ™‚

      November 25, 2009 at 9:23 am

  9. Absolutely marvellous shot.
    It sounds like something Richie Benaud would say, but you nailed it.
    Great surreal shot.

    November 25, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Good ol’ Richie
      Thanks Thomas, I appreciate it

      November 26, 2009 at 10:13 am

  10. Luke, you’ve got some awesome images mate. Keep up the good work. You’re an even better fella for using a Nikon!!

    November 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Jamie, and thank you for stopping by my blog

      December 1, 2009 at 7:39 am

  11. Beautiful shot Luke.

    One that will always mean something to you for sure this one, !!!

    November 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm

  12. this is insanely surreal I was like “surely he photoshopped those (bulls) in there!” amazing, you have a gift. I personally like the colour and feel of the sky/snow, it adds a mystical quality to the image.

    November 30, 2009 at 6:04 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Katie, nope the Elk were there. Thanks again

      December 1, 2009 at 7:40 am

  13. truenorthmark

    Sweet shot Luke!

    November 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Mark

      December 1, 2009 at 7:41 am

  14. great nature scene, makes me want to get back over there. You are doing a pretty good job of flying the Nikon flag mate.

    November 30, 2009 at 7:11 pm

  15. Luke Austin

    Thanks Christian. You should get back over here. It’s an amazing place. I’m doing my best to try hold the flag up. You have “canonized” everyone πŸ™‚

    December 1, 2009 at 7:42 am

  16. danproud

    great shot Luke, keep doing these and you’ll put Lik out of business!

    January 3, 2010 at 3:08 am

  17. Wow, what a magical photo πŸ™‚

    January 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

