Johnston Canyon

Well it is starting to get pretty cold over here at the moment and will continue to get colder and colder. I have started working on the nearby Ski Hill which should be a lot of fun. The hill officially opens this coming Wednesday so I can’t wait to get into it. Unfortunately winter means short short days and I am already having to go to work in the dark and come home in the dark. Bummer.  It will be interesting  trying to get out shooting on my days off when it is -20C and below, geee….Can’t wait!

This is a shot from early October in Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park. 

JohnstonCanyonCave

9 responses

  1. Been waiting for this one to show up. Really nice, i like the perspective of looking from inside a cave out. I guess in the spring this place would be flooded from the snow melt ? Are you going to try some ice cave shots this winter?

    November 8, 2009 at 5:44 am

  2. Luke Austin

    Cheers Neal.
    Yeah in spring the water does charge through here. This waterfall is beginning to freeze over at the moment so I may pay it a visit tomorrow.
    Hmmm, Ice caves, Well I have ventured into one so far and I was alone so I didn’t hang out in there for too long. Managed a few shots but nothing I am really happy with. I will get into one again at some stage though.

    November 8, 2009 at 6:52 am

  3. Peter Hodgson

    I wonder how long many years that rock has been perched there?… I like perspective of the shot.

    November 8, 2009 at 7:31 am

  4. Great shot Luke, I really like how you’ve used the rock/cave (I can’t really tell) to frame the picture.

    November 8, 2009 at 8:25 am

  5. Great perspective and exposure Luke.
    Impressive geological features.

    November 10, 2009 at 3:59 am

  6. Tony Middleton

    Great looking spot Luke – would be awesome to have a poke about there by the looks of this stunning image. It’s also great to read that you are enjoying the challenges and experiences of somewhere new/away from home.

    cheers,

    November 12, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  7. i really like this perspective, luke. and the water is beautiful

    November 17, 2009 at 2:04 pm

  8. Clint Baker

    Love the shot mate!!!! wish i was there!! haha

    November 18, 2009 at 10:16 pm

  9. I love the natural framing of this shot. It really draws your eye in. Well done

    December 27, 2009 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

