Elbow Lake – Kananaskis Country

ElbowLake

I went for a drive throughout Kananaskis Country early on Sunday morning hoping to scout out a few locations to shoot under morning light. Along the way I managed to see 15 Moose, 12 of which I saw before the sun had even risen. What a magically way to start the day.

After driving for an hour or so I decided to stop and do the short hike up to Elbow Lake. I had heard of a few Grizzlies hanging about so I kept a keen eye on things. Upon arriving at the Lake I was greeted with this beautiful scene. Although I did have to wait for about 15 minutes or so for the sun to rise from behind the mountains.

Elbow Lake (Elevation: 6,995ft)
Kananaskis Country
Alberta, Canada

13 responses

  1. Magic. What more can I say?

    August 17, 2009 at 5:18 am

    • Luke Austin

      Nope, that’s just fine.
      Haha thanks Jamie

      August 17, 2009 at 6:09 am

  2. Great shot Luke, Hope you are still enjoying your stay over there.

    August 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  3. Luke Austin

    Thanks Peter. Absolutely love it over here 🙂

    August 18, 2009 at 10:07 am

  4. chloe

    pure perfection!
    i really like the light rays & how the reflection is almost an entire copy of the scene

    August 18, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Chloe

      August 19, 2009 at 6:15 am

  5. too good, that lens flare/sun glare really pulls it all together

    August 18, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Katie

      August 19, 2009 at 6:16 am

  6. Perfect mate, enjoy the sun over there while you can, cause I`m done with winter here so I`m sending it your way! When are you back? Will pick your brain on all the spots! Take care and have fun mate

    August 22, 2009 at 9:41 am

    • Luke Austin

      Haha, thanks mate, I’m actually hanging out for winter here. Autumn/Fall particularly.
      I’d say I will be over here for another year, hopefully 🙂
      Any questions just shoot me an email austo1234@hotmail.com
      When you planning on heading over?

      August 23, 2009 at 9:54 pm

  7. kirkhille

    Stunning shot again Luke the country side up there looks amazing

    August 29, 2009 at 1:26 pm

  8. Hey Luke, planning to head over October NEXT YEAR! Start new job tomorrow which will fund travels and keep mortgage covered. Cheers mate

    September 1, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  9. Very Nice Luke great composition and timing with the sun! 🙂

    September 11, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

