Tokkum Creek – Kootenay National Park

I shot this last weekend when out and about early in the morning. I arose at 4:30am and decided to take the 30 minute drive to Kootenay National Park. I’m glad I did because the light that morning was beautiful.

This area of Kootenay was burnt out late summer 2003 as a result of several fires that were ignited by lightning. The fires burnt for 40 days and left a path of destruction. I am unsure how long it will take for the area to return to its former glory but with such long winters, and short summers i’d imagine it would take a while. 

back to the morning of last weekend…… It was fairly overcast but the sun managed to burst through every 20 minutes or so. I took a few shots around Marble Canyon which is a short walk from the carpark, I then decided to wander up the creek for a while to see what was on offer.

After walking a little further up the creek the light broke through the clouds and lit up the scene in front of me, it was amazing. Unfortunately by the time I set up, the sun had disappeared behind the clouds again. I figured now that I was set up I would wait, in hope that the sun would present itself again. I could see a small gap in the clouds slowly moving in an easterly direction. So I watched and waited……. After about 15 minutes the sun shone through, hitting exactly where I was hoping for. It lit up the trees and the creek while leaving the mountains under the shade of the cloud.

This image is a 7 image stitch shot at 85mm. I used my spiffy new Singh-Ray Vari-ND to slow things down a touch, along with a 2.5 stop Lee grad ND for the sky.

TokkumCreek

16 responses

  1. Very cool Luke like how the light has lit up just the center of the frame … looks bloody cold though ?

    July 4, 2009 at 10:02 am

  2. Tony Middleton

    Spectacular scene once again Luke ! the light through the image is brilliant.

    July 5, 2009 at 7:19 pm

  3. Luke Austin

    Thanks Neal. It wasn’t to cold really. Just had my hoodie on and a thin rain jacket. The water was freeekin freezing though. I put my hand in for about a second and it came out numb.

    July 6, 2009 at 12:51 am

  4. Luke Austin

    Thanks a lot Tony. It was a great morning to be out there. Its very surreal being in such an area under those conditions.

    July 6, 2009 at 12:52 am

  5. Hi Luke,

    What a great shot. Your use of light has made this an outstanding shot.

    Jamie

    July 6, 2009 at 5:25 am

  6. Snow melt will do hat to you Luke …. Coming your way in September 🙂

    July 6, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  7. Haha I know. Where exactly you planning on heading? Have to meet up. I’m hanging out for september/october.

    July 7, 2009 at 6:56 am

  8. kirkhille

    Like it mate as neal said looks bloody cold over there

    July 8, 2009 at 4:42 pm

  9. Can you shoot us an email Luke … spool1968 (at) yahoo dot com

    cheers

    Neal

    July 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

  10. hey luke, good shot kudos for waiting. just found im too old to work in canada so ill have to save up and go next year a live like a bum for 6 months.

    July 8, 2009 at 7:15 pm

  11. Cheers Kirk.

    Will do Neal.

    Thanks Michael. Bummer about that.
    I’m not sure how old you are but they apparently just changed the law so that you can obtain a working visa here until you turn 36. It is or was currently until you turn 30 but the word around here is that it has changed or is changing.

    July 9, 2009 at 5:51 am

  12. Very nice shot Luke!

    July 13, 2009 at 3:33 pm

  13. chloe

    this is very beautifully-surreal

    July 20, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  14. Cheers Will

    Thanks Chloe

    July 22, 2009 at 6:53 am

  15. danproud

    Thats an AMAZING photograph! Well done!

    September 7, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  16. SWEET shot!!

    September 25, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

