Mt Hood: Oregon

This shot is one from a little road trip I did a few weeks ago. Actually, little is an understatement. It was a fair long drive but I had bugger all else to do, and wanted to take my new van for a spin.

I took off from here in Canmore, Alberta and headed into the States, through Idaho and into Washington/Oregon. After driving for a day and a half I spent a few days in Hood River which is in the Columbia Gorge on the border of Oregon and Washington. It is a beautiful area and I hope to get back there.  

The first afternoon I arrived in Hood River I was greeted with clear skies and reasonably good weather. After having a feed I drove around and scoped out a few different vantage points for shots of Mt Hood but did not actually take any shots as I figured I would get them over the next few days (Mistake). It was a long day driving and I just wanted to rest. Well….. the next few days were overcast, and miserable. Which was good for shooting the pockets of forest but not so much for getting the shots I wanted of Mt Hood as unfortunately it was covered in cloud.

Anyway on the third afternoon I was extremely close to giving up and leaving the area, but I decided to stay for one more night. The next morning I woke up and was greeted with reasonably clear skies, so I headed straight for a location I had previously scouted.

This is the shot that resulted. I’m glad I came away with a shot of Mt Hood.

I hope the above all makes sense…. I have had a few and decided to do a post 🙂

MtHoodNOrchard

20 responses

  1. Luke Austin

    Also…
    Anyone know why the links to everyone elses blogs is not showing up in my sidebar? Or is it? and I just can’t see it?

    June 7, 2009 at 8:53 am

  2. Nah, I can’t see your links. You might have to replace the widget back into your sidebar.

    Neat shot, btw, love the lines created by the rows of plants.

    June 7, 2009 at 7:22 pm

  3. kirkhille

    nice shot again mate love the lines with the trees .
    Yeah wordpress plays up every now and then it dropped all my links off before as well had to re add them in the widgets

    June 8, 2009 at 5:52 pm

  4. The above made no sense as I had had a few when I read it but that pano is bloody fantastic, Great lines and comp, worth hanging around for thats for sure.

    June 9, 2009 at 4:18 pm

  5. Sweet Luke, sounds like your having fun, what`s the cost of living & pay like? I would love to work a ski season over there.

    June 9, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  6. Luke Austin

    Cheers Beau, got the links sorted now.

    June 12, 2009 at 11:03 pm

  7. Luke Austin

    Thanks Kirk, yeah these pear orchids made for some interesting compositions.

    June 12, 2009 at 11:04 pm

  8. Luke Austin

    Thanks Peter, yeah I’m happy I stuck around for one more morning.

    June 12, 2009 at 11:05 pm

  9. Luke Austin

    Cost of living is fairly similar to Perth, a little cheaper though. Petrol is cheaper, and food is a little cheaper i suppose.
    As far as wages go, unless you are a tradesperson or a waiter then the wages are pretty average. I’m a Carpenter so I’m doing alright 🙂
    Working on the ski slopes would be awesome, you can make good money up there waitering, or just average money doing anything else. It’s all about the lifestyle up there though, snowboarding/skiing every day. Looking forward to that.
    You should do a season. Meet up.

    June 12, 2009 at 11:10 pm

  10. Tony Middleton

    Spectacular image Luke ! Mt Hood is one brilliant and majestic looking peak ! Well done for sticking it out and the long time satisfaction you will now have is more than worth it I bet !

    cheers,

    June 14, 2009 at 11:32 am

  11. Luke Austin

    Thanks Tony, it is a magic place

    June 15, 2009 at 7:23 am

  12. Andrew Fuller

    Brilliant work…love the lines and the colours just a perfect shot IMO

    June 15, 2009 at 4:24 pm

  13. Really nice shot Luke …. Oregon has some amazing waterfalls along the columbia river as well as some stunning gorges, if only I had taken more photos back in 1993 …. Will just pay that area another visit … Look forward to catching up with you when I am there.

    June 17, 2009 at 7:06 am

  14. Love it mate, very sweet.

    June 17, 2009 at 12:56 pm

  15. Luke Austin

    Andrew: Thanks mate

    Neal: Cheers. I only saw a tiny bit of Oregon, mainly around the Columbia Gorge. It is an amazing area. Unfortunately I was only in the area for a couple of days but I still managed to shoot a few of the waterfalls. Yeah definitely keen to catch up.

    Thomas: Thanks. It is a great area

    June 18, 2009 at 10:01 am

  16. Luke,

    Amazing image mate, really nice. I want to try and get back to the USA next year maybe and Canada ( I did a season in Whistler once and loved it ) and would love to get to Oregon…..

    Again, nice images mate, look forward to seeing more

    June 21, 2009 at 3:40 am

  17. Luke Austin

    Thanks Rod.
    Canada is an amazing place, I have to pinch myself on a daily basis.
    I would love to get back to Oregon. So many amazing places to visit over here.

    June 21, 2009 at 10:09 am

  18. chloë

    this is awesome! love the lines & bold colours 🙂

    June 23, 2009 at 5:32 am

  19. Luke Austin

    Thanks Chloe 🙂

    June 23, 2009 at 6:05 am

  20. Dev

    great shot. I love the composition, the lines in the foreground add another layer of interest.

    September 30, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

