Gone But Not Forgotten

I went for a walk around the area I am staying in Canada. It is a quiet little town. I love it. On my walk I stumbled across this neat little cemetery at the bottom of the hill I am living on. Like the town the cemetery is only small.

Walking through any cemetery is a little bit creepy. So when I approached the cemetery gate on this cold overcast morning I was a little bit apprehensive. I opened the rickety gate and started to make my way along one of the main pathways with gravestones on either side. Then……….. In flew a “murder” of Ravens.  They came in and landed on the gravestones surrounding me, squawking/crowing at me as if to say get out of our territory. It sent shivers down my spine. Creepy experience.

After composing myself and deciding to ignore the Ravens I managed to take a few shots. It is an interesting place and i`m sure I will shoot there on a number of occasions.

Here is one from that morning….

notforgotten

I am working from an uncalibrated macbook so I am unsure if my image adjustments are what I want them to be. Hopefully get an external monitor sometime soonish.

9 responses

  1. Clint Baker

    holy crap man… i would have ran the hell out of there!!!… trying to click on the picture to make it bigger but cant seem to do it

    April 22, 2009 at 4:15 am

  2. Nice composition with the trees framing the scene. Who’s the dude in the photo?

    April 22, 2009 at 7:38 am

  3. lukeaustin

    Cheers Beau,
    That “dude” is me 🙂
    I framed the scene and felt like i could put a conceptual spin on it so I set the self timer and posed like a poser.

    Clint, I must be doing something wrong when I upload my shots. I will look into it..

    April 22, 2009 at 8:35 am

  4. Hi Luke ….interesting shots and good to see your finding your way around . I’ll keep watching as its good to see others travel experiences.

    By the way the Wacoms going well.

    April 22, 2009 at 4:19 pm

  5. Tony Middleton

    fantastic shot Luke ! very cold and chilling…eeep !

    April 23, 2009 at 3:53 am

  6. Good to hear its going well Merv. I miss it. Thanks for dropping by.

    Thanks Tony.

    April 25, 2009 at 4:52 am

  7. You look a bit worried in this photo Luke and now you have told the story I can understand why… haha.

    Looking forward to more photos with great stories.

    April 27, 2009 at 6:28 am

  8. lukeaustin

    Thanks Peter

    May 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

  9. I thought it would have been yourself… Upon a second look I think it may look better if the picket fence was more horizontal. Hope you’re having a sweet time in Canada and taking a shit load of photos 😉

    May 9, 2009 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

