In Canada

 

Well, I have now arrived in Canada. Safe and sound for the time being.  My flight over here wasn’t to bad, managed to score a couple of seats on each flight which was a real bonus.

The scenery over here is amazing, It’s hard to know where to start as far as photography goes. Unfortunately I have not yet been out shooting, just snowboarding and eating. Yesterday was my first day ever of snowboarding. It was awesome to say the least.  I got absolutely hammered a few times and I am extremely sore today. I managed to do a couple of black runs on my first day, but payed the price when I had a few heavy falls. No broken bones YET!

After a big day snowboarding myself and a few mates headed down to the local pub here in Canmore for “Wing Night”. 25cent wings of all different flavours. I think I managed to down about 30 or so, washed down with a few beers. After that it was bedtime. Knackered.

Here is a shot I took from the balcony of the house I am staying at. The view is awesome. I look at this view from my bed in the morning whern I wake up. Great way to start the day. Looking forward to eventually getting a car so that I can start shooting. 🙂

threesistersfirstnightpano1

13 responses

  1. Where abouts in Canada are you (must be Alberta, if you went to Canmore…)?
    I’ll be in Calgary for a few weeks next month – how long are you going to be there?

    April 18, 2009 at 7:08 am

  2. lukeaustin

    Hey Martin. I am living in Canmore. I will be here for who knows how long. A while at least. Let me know when you head here, if you come out to the mountains. Meet up for sure. I am just getting a feel for the place at the moment. Can’t wait to get a car.

    April 18, 2009 at 10:38 am

  3. Wow, I’d love to wake up to a view like that every morning! Sounds like you’ll be having a pretty awesome time for a little while heh

    April 19, 2009 at 5:15 am

  4. Luke,
    Canada is an amazing place. Il iived in Whistler for five months back in 2002 and want to get back there real bad…. if you ever get o BC, go to Whistler for sure mate… wont be dissappointed

    Rod

    April 19, 2009 at 5:57 am

  5. I’ll be in Calgary for work for a couple of weeks, and then intend to head out to Banff / Lake Louise for a few days, so I’ll definitely be heading out past Canmore.

    Email me (I couldn’t find your email address anywhere on your blog), and we’ll see if we can arrange something.

    April 19, 2009 at 7:40 am

  6. Clint Baker

    mate i hate u!!!!…. keep those photos coming so i know wat to expect when i get over there!!!! have a bloody good one

    April 19, 2009 at 9:06 am

  7. kirkhille

    Nice mate ,
    would love to be over there , Canada has been one place i have all ways wanted to go , for the photography and snowboarding . Have a great time over there look foward to seeing your photos

    April 19, 2009 at 9:35 am

  8. lukeaustin

    Rod, im sure I will get to whistler at some point. So much to see over here.

    Clint mate your off to Greece, therefor i hate you too! I can’t wait to actually get out shooting.

    April 19, 2009 at 10:10 am

  9. 25 cent wings, hot damn I miss nights like that …. The scenery if not already will so blow you away … The western side of Canada is extremely scenic to say the least.

    I expect tons of travel and photo image reports 🙂

    April 19, 2009 at 7:01 pm

  10. sunlitskies

    Nice one Luke, I can only imagine what you will get when you do some “proper shooting” That is a seriously good view and pano!

    April 20, 2009 at 7:22 pm

  11. awesome! great shot.
    look forward to more shots you get from here.
    love mountains, really wish we had more of them here!
    but in saying that we have some pretty amazing landscapes anyway 🙂

    April 29, 2009 at 11:20 am

  12. Brisk! What an amazing view, gosh, if I could only wake up to that every morning.. amazing shot.

    May 7, 2009 at 5:59 am

  13. James

    Hey you’re in canada. Theres something uplifting I found about the landscape there. Really spectacular.

    Photos galore over there. Hope you get a chance to get out and have a look around.

    Drove from Calgary to Jasper in 2005, great views, great times.

    May 21, 2009 at 6:35 am

Leave a Reply

