Cottesloe Beach – Favourite PAST TIMES

cottesloe-from-groin-lighter

This stitch was shot on Monday afternoon. A possible afternoon thunderstorm was predicted but as often is the case it never showed up. I was hanging out for it but by the time I finished work I realised that it wasn’t going to happen. With the conditions and the cloud that was about I decided to head down to Cottesloe to try and shoot a typical Cottesloe shot.

These types of scenes, and shots generally don’t do a lot for me. It is a location that has been done to death but I figure majority of people (non-photographers) like the chocolate box type shots. It is also an iconic location for Perth so I wanted to get something.

You may have heard about the “young louts” getting drunk and causing trouble both down at Cottsloe and Scarborough on Sunday. Unfortunately shit like this spoils things for the rest of us. It is now more likely that Police will start cracking down on “street drinking” or “beach drinking” in these areas. Therefor those of us who enjoy a quite relaxing drink on the beach in the afternoon will also be affected. Hypocritical I know, seeing as though I used to be one of these little punks getting drunk and up to mischief. It’s just a shame that occurrences such as those on Sunday highlight these issues.

So when I went down on the Monday afternoon, the day after all that occured, and saw a bloke enjoying a couple of beers on the beach I thought it would make for a nice little shot. I wanted to have him in the shot head tilted back, drinking. I had to wait about 5 minutes or so until he finally grabed it and threw it down his throat. That’s when I went… click   click   click    click   click and got the shot I was after.

It’s probably the type of shot that really needs to be printed at a decent size to appreciate.

11 responses

  1. Great shot Luke,
    It is one of the better shots I have seen of this location as it is fairly popular with photographers. I think it has potential in the tourism sector.

    Great Colour, crisp and sharp, good work mate.

    Cheers
    Tom

    October 25, 2008 at 6:07 am

  2. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate ,
    Love the contrasty colors to this shot

    October 25, 2008 at 6:08 am

  3. Tis a great shot. AS you said would look better printed nice n’ big.
    it would work well on a… puzzle or something.

    October 25, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  4. Nice shot mate!
    I have to say I was down at cott on sunday….

    October 25, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  5. tonymiddleton

    The blue water and white sand looks most inviting – good accurate representation Luke ! pity about the usual ‘dickhead-factor’ 😦

    October 25, 2008 at 5:50 pm

  6. Very iconic shot of Cot Luke. I have always had trouble photographing this beach, still on my list to do.

    And totally agree with you and the booze situation, we have the same problem up here at Mullaloo Beach, a few pissants ruin it for the rest.

    October 25, 2008 at 6:40 pm

  7. lukeaustin

    Cheers Thomas. Yeah it is a very popular spot. I am pretty happy with this shot. I have another one I took a fair while ago that I still haven’t got around to putting together. Hopefully I will do soon.

    Thanks Kirk, I figured I would pop the saturation up a little on this one.

    Thanks Sean. Nice little suggestion with the puzzle. The water and sand would pose a bit of a challenge to piece together.

    Cheers Dylan. I hope you weren’t causing too much trouble down there.

    Tony, thanks for the comment. Yeah shame about the dickheads.

    Thanks Neal. Yeah, Mullaloo is getting pretty out of hand.

    October 26, 2008 at 8:03 am

  8. I was at Hamersley Pool tonight taking photos and as I was leaving some big fat bearded blokes in their car said something to a runner who wasnt about to take any shit and so he went back and gave them a mouth full. People like that piss me off! Starting trouble for no reason! Good on the runner!

    October 26, 2008 at 5:14 pm

  9. lukeaustin

    Haha
    Good on him!
    Did you manage to get any decent shots down there? You should have given me a yell.

    October 27, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  10. great shot!
    classic shot yes, but it worked! sometimes you just gota do it.
    love those clouds hey! and the water does look fantastic.
    soon it’ll be warm enough to spend hours in it. 🙂

    October 28, 2008 at 3:13 pm

  11. Luke it dosent need to be big to appreciate this at all. Looks great. Love the Cot my brother had his wedding reception across the road. Was great.

    October 30, 2008 at 1:30 am

Leave a Reply

