Maritime Museum

maritime-museum

Western Australian Maritime Museum

This was shot on the same day as my Freo Wharf shot but in the afternoon. I started to head home from Fremantle after work at around 3:30pm but stopped in at Mosman Park and Cottesloe to get a few shots as the conditions were pretty decent.  I was just about to continue heading home when I saw this cloud start to build up over Fremantle.  So instead of heading home I jumped in my car and planted it.

I was heading back towards Fremantle in a frantic state trying to decide what I was going to shoot and where. I ended up opting for North Mole where I managed to get this shot as well as another one of the lighthouse (the clouds were lit up orange for the lighthouse shot but I am having trouble stitching it accurately, hopefully it comes together).

When I shot this I was sitting there waiting, hoping for the purple lights on the Museum to come on. Finally they did but by that time there was not a lot of light left in the sky and the cloud cover was not quite as fierce. Shit Happens!

28 responses

  1. This is another great shot, Luke. Those clouds look amazing. Good thing you headed back towards Freo instead of going home, ey!

    July 13, 2008 at 10:29 am

  2. lukeaustin

    Cheers Beau. Yeah I know, sometimes it’s hard to make the call to pack away your gear and head home. This whole photography game is just way too complicated sometimes, decisions decisions.

    July 13, 2008 at 10:41 am

  3. Very nice shoot Luke, to keepers in one day nice 🙂

    July 13, 2008 at 12:28 pm

  4. kirkhille

    Nice shot Mate ,
    The clouds look great in this ,
    Different POV from all the other shots of it

    July 13, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  5. lukeaustin

    Cheers Neal. Hopefully three if I can manage to stitch another one I took.

    July 13, 2008 at 2:42 pm

  6. lukeaustin

    Thanks Kirk
    Yeah the clouds were unreal, got lucky with that one.
    How did you guys go this morning at freo?

    July 13, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  7. clintbaker85

    Wow great shot Luke like everyone has said the clouds look amazing, just about to add your link to my site if u dont mind

    July 13, 2008 at 6:53 pm

  8. I really like this! How did it stitch with the horizon so far off center?
    I like the way it’s almost entirely a cloud scape! Well Done!

    July 13, 2008 at 11:52 pm

  9. Awesome clouds here.
    The one in the middle nearly looks like something you see in the US

    July 14, 2008 at 11:18 am

  10. lukeaustin

    Thanks Clint. Cheers for the link, I’ll return the favour.

    July 14, 2008 at 11:51 am

  11. lukeaustin

    Thanks Dylan.
    I cropped out some of the water in the foreground to get this composition. Framed it with the horizon at about the bottom third.

    July 14, 2008 at 11:55 am

  12. jamiepatersonphotography

    Great work Luke. 🙂

    July 15, 2008 at 11:15 am

  13. Very dramatic,
    Excellent work.

    July 15, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  14. Peter Hodgson

    I like the composition and clouds in this pano Luke, a different veiw of this great looking building. I,ve been here a few times but always at the wrong time of the day to get a desent shot.

    July 18, 2008 at 6:05 pm

  15. Fantastic drama and POV.

    July 18, 2008 at 9:11 pm

  16. lukeaustin

    Cheers Jamie 🙂

    July 19, 2008 at 6:42 am

  17. lukeaustin

    Thanks Thomas mate

    July 19, 2008 at 6:42 am

  18. lukeaustin

    Thanks Peter. Yeah the clouds were awesome, I wish they were about more often.

    July 19, 2008 at 7:05 am

  19. lukeaustin

    Thanks James

    July 19, 2008 at 7:06 am

  20. Top shot Luke, got to love those sky scape shots and you have a ripper here. That maritime museum seams like a bit of a hot spot for you Perth photographers.

    August 4, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  21. tonymiddleton

    fantastically moody image Luke – I like the contrast between the stormy sky and silky smooth water.

    August 6, 2008 at 5:25 pm

  22. Damien

    This is superb!!! Did you take this from the other side of the port? I didn’t think the public were allowed in that area.

    August 31, 2008 at 7:40 pm

  23. lukeaustin

    Thanks Matt and Tony

    Thanks Damien. It was taken from the other side of the port. The public is allowed around there, I just walked around the back of the shipping containers until I got to a fence where I couldn’t go on anymore.

    September 1, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  24. that is shit hot Luke

    September 11, 2008 at 6:39 pm

  25. lukeaustin

    Cheers Christian. I got lucky with the clouds.

    September 11, 2008 at 7:26 pm

  26. furrylittlefriend

    Awesome pic! Were those clouds actually their or did you put them in using photoshop? Its just they look to good to be true.

    September 29, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  27. lukeaustin

    The clouds were actually there. They rolled in over the ocean. It was great to watch. i wish we had build ups like this more often. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    September 29, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  28. excellent shot Luke, very moody and full of atmosphere! nice

    October 9, 2008 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

