Old Fremantle Power Station

south-freo-power-station

This is my first completed pano. I’ve finally entered the big WIDE world of panoramic photography. I was scared of the whole stitching thing for a long time. I’m slowly getting the gist of it all but I think it’s going to take a little getting used to.

I’m working on a site in Freo at the moment and we started a little later than usual during the week. The late start gave me time to get down and shoot this before work on Thursday.

15 responses

  1. kirkhille

    Nice shot Luke ,
    Like the movment in the water and the color
    once you start with the panoramic images you be hooked . They look great printed large .

    June 28, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  2. lukeaustin

    Cheers Kirk. Yeah looking forward to eventually getting something printed large đŸ™‚

    June 28, 2008 at 4:26 pm

  3. Very nice Luke,
    The motion of the water and sky are awesome and you have captured it very well.

    June 28, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  4. dylanfox

    I really like it! The low saturation is great!
    Pano’s are a lot of fun! It’s just picturing the stitched image in your mind before you take your shots. It takes practice.

    June 28, 2008 at 9:39 pm

  5. Mel

    this shot rocks well done.

    June 29, 2008 at 3:57 pm

  6. Jayne

    Hi Luke, I love this photo. Great subject. You mention in your post that you’ve just started to shoot pano. Have you got a pano head yet?? Jayne

    June 30, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  7. lukeaustin

    Thanks Thomas glad you like it.

    June 30, 2008 at 6:33 pm

  8. lukeaustin

    Cheers Dylan. Yeah I’ll have to start training myself to recognise situations where a pano will work well.

    June 30, 2008 at 6:35 pm

  9. lukeaustin

    Thanks Mel

    June 30, 2008 at 6:35 pm

  10. lukeaustin

    Thank you Jayne. It’s a good spot to wonder around bit creepy though. I’ve met a few freaks there.
    Yeah I have got a pano head. I didn’t really shoot any panos prior to getting a pano head. I probably should have though.

    June 30, 2008 at 6:39 pm

  11. Nice shot. It’s somewhere I have been meaning to go and get a few shots of before it gets developed.

    July 4, 2008 at 11:17 am

  12. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Luke,

    I like this photo as well and have been contemplating shooting for ages. I think this place was really look awesome in a golden sunset.

    Jamie Paterson

    July 6, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  13. ian Stephens

    Hello Luke can you tell me on the photo of the Old power station of Fremantle is the postion of the ship wreck JAMES in the photo
    Why I ask this question is my great great great grand mother was drowned in the storm which sunk the JAMES
    hope you can help Ian Stephens

    March 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  14. amelia

    How much is this print to buy?

    January 8, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

