Lupins – Alaska

Below is an image I captured while in Alaska in August/September of 2010. I was surprised to find these Lupins on the mountainside on the hike up to the Harding Icefield. All the wildflowers at a lower elevation were well past their best before date but as I slowly climbed higher the foliage and wildflowers were in far better shape. I decided I would continue on and upward and shoot the Lupin on the way back down later in the afternoon.

Once I returned to the area I had briefly scouted on my way up it began raining, only for a short period however. There was just enough rain to line all the leaves with tiny beads of water (clearly visible in print) and make the mountainside wet enough to cause me to slip n slide all over the place. Trying to hunt out a composition that I felt worked in the slippery conditions was frustrating and after one bad spill it became painful (a rock in the behind will do that to you. I said ROCK!). Anyway after finding a composition I was happy with I sat, waited and recovered.

Facebook

Google Plus

20 responses

  1. Beautiful Image Luke, well worth the effort.

    June 6, 2011 at 6:01 pm

  2. kirkhille

    Very nice mate .
    New logo as well ?

    June 6, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    • Thanks Kirk. Yeah mate, something pretty straight forward

      June 9, 2011 at 6:06 pm

  3. Lovely! Great color.

    June 7, 2011 at 3:56 am

  4. Cracking photo Luke, beautifully executed…both capture and post.

    June 7, 2011 at 4:29 am

  5. awesome shot Luke, beautiful tones

    June 7, 2011 at 12:36 pm

  6. No pain no gain they say, another ripper shot. looking forward to the exhibition mate.

    June 7, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  7. Great image Luke, very nice detail.

    June 9, 2011 at 2:19 am

    • Thanks Ben. Had to stack a few images for maximum detail

      June 9, 2011 at 6:12 pm

  8. I Like it mate! Im a big fan of making fowers like this the foreground with a peak in the background. Never come across a scene like this but I love it! Im off to the states this week! Cannot wait!

    June 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Dylan. Have a great time in the States

      June 17, 2011 at 5:57 am

  9. Lovely image Luke. The colors look really vibrant.

    June 14, 2011 at 2:40 am

    • Luke Austin

      Thanks Graham

      June 17, 2011 at 5:58 am

  10. I can see the Ladies would be all over this shot mate! :)

    June 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    • Luke Austin

      Yeah, they love the pretty purple flowers

      June 17, 2011 at 5:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers